All

6. The Lack Of Motivation

 

Before I begin my blog I would like to announce that this blog (Realistic Beginner) has received a 100 follows. I would like that thank each and every single one of you. I promise I would write regularly and not waste your precious time by writing random bullshit. 😀 Jokes aside. Really, thank you all for making this happen. Now, let the blog begin.

Have you ever faced the lack of any sort of motivation. Yeah? I’m currently in that situation. I have been in this situation since my 18th birthday. And I have no idea what I am to do about this. It’s already been two months and I haven’t done anything I wanted to do. Like I’ll have so many ideas and plans. And I’ll end up doing none of them. I’ll give two examples of what’s going on, and you’ll catch up.

  1.   I’m facing the lack of motivation to write. Like in my head, I can already cook up 20-30 blog topics that I want to write on. I’ll have a plan. And is not like there is a writing block. I can write on those topics. I’m just finding it hard to sit in front of the laptop and write on it. There is no will. I know they say “where there is no will, there is no way”. I just am not able to push myself to do any writing.
  2.  I’m facing the lack of motivation to study. I literally have my exams in a week. And I haven’t started studying properly. Like I do know bits here and there, but I’m not thorough with anything to write an exam on it. I have created time tables. I have been creating time tables. Nothing has been working out as of now.

I’m facing the lack of motivation to do anything basically. I don’t even like to get up in the morning. I’ve started hating going to college. I don’t like to dress up. I just want to do nothing. It’s like that now. It’s not like I haven’t watched youtube videos on motivation or read on how to boost your motivation. I’ve watched them all. I’ve read them all. I’m just not able to implement it in my life.

Now, I am scared. I’m freaking out. I don’t want to be like this anymore. I don’t want to stay put. I need my fire. I need that spark. I need that motivation. I badly need it. Because I’m afraid that if I don’t get it now, it’ll be too late. I don’t want it to be late. And I also know that “it’ll never be too late”.  All I’m saying that I don’t want to waste the time given to me now. I don’t want to waste it anymore. I’ve had enough of lazy days. I’ve had enough of waiting for motivation to come to me. I’m going out of my way and I’m going to find it. It’s not too late now. I’m not going to sit around. I’m going to do everything I wanted to. And then I’m going to make a part 2 of this blog telling you, how I did it. Not to show off, but to give me the satisfaction and helping you to use it for your lack of motivation. But for now, I am going to find my self that motivation. 

I didn’t want this to be a rant on my life. But if you thought that while reading this, then I’m sorry. And one more thing, if you have faced anything similar to this let me know, and also if you have found yourself out of this rut, how did you do it? Comment below and share your lovely thoughts.

  • RB =)
22 thoughts on “6. The Lack Of Motivation

  1. Congratulations on you 100 followers!
    I understand your lack of motivation. It is hard to break through it. Very often he lack of motivation is because things might be overwhelming if there are so many things that you must, have or want to do. It helps me to set up a list of all the things I must, want or have to do then set up priorities.
    I hope you find your motivation soon again.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lack of motivation is indeed a situation in which I have found myself many times. There is no silver bullet for gaining motivation but I will tell you what has worked for me through trial and error:

    Start just one thing. It does not necessarily have to be school work or writing. I started coloring as a way to activate my body into doing something while allowing my mind to meditate. The act of doing something led me to the act of doing another.
    Find a quote that is meaningful to you and read it all the time. Some of my favorites include:

    “Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass but learning to dance in the rain.”

    “Smooth waters do not make a great sailor.”

    “You can’t stop the waves but you can learn to surf.”

    Exercise the energy of gratitude. This has been the most powerful for me. When I am feeling really low and unmotivated, I write down the things for which I am grateful. It can be anything from a loyal friend to a good cup of coffee to the absence of traffic. The more granular I look, the more things I can find for which I am grateful. And if I proactively look for things to be grateful for, I find myself living in the moment, enjoying the colors of autumn or my dog sleeping on my lap.

    None of these may resonate with you, but know what you are going through will eventually pass, and hopefully you will find a few practices that helped motivate you, which will empower you during your next bout of this feeling. Don’t be too hard on yourself. You are human and that is OK.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I’m going to try using the things that you’ve mentioned. They seem very helpful. I know that I shouldn’t be tooo hard on myself, but after staying put and doing nothing for four months kind off put me off track. I’ll go easy on myself, but at the same time not – not do anything. Thank you so much for your patience to read everything and write down things that can help me. It really means a lot.

      Like

  3. Hey, I wrote a similar post today! ..Must be the time of year 🙂

    For most of college and a year or so after graduating, motivation was the thing I lacked most. It’s an age thing and life transition thing. According to older folks, it’s completely normal to lose motivation/fire around this time in your life. What matters most is that you don’t stop living your life because that’s how you eventually find your spark again.

    Anyway, I definitely agree with what another commenter said about starting one small thing. It gets the ball rolling, and just doing a single small thing makes it easier to continue because of inertia! That applies to most everything that seems daunting. Job seeking, report writing, exercising, painting, yada yada yada.

    Plus, I’ve found that making changes or shifting perspectives can make a big difference.
    For example, see what kind of people are surrounding you. Are they sapping your energy? When I was in college, my friend group consisted of inside-the-box thinkers, weekend binge drinkers, and unadventurous people. In other words, people who did not inspire me or share my values and ideals. This resulted in squandering my time in college and not finding the motivation to reach my potential or really pursue the things I enjoyed. I should have found different people to spend my time with..
    Not only that, but it’s good to understand when to change perspective. Whenever I feel stuck in a rut (usually takes me forever to realize it), it’s useful to try and attack my issue from a different angle. What alternative paths and actions can get you to where you want to be?

    I hope I don’t come across as preachy! Most of all I sympathize with you, and I hope you regain your motivation in good time. Courage, mon amie! You are not alone 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank God, I’m not the only one 😉 Thank you for taking the time to help me out. And I really hope that this age thing gets over soon, or I’m afraid that I’ll get depressed (knowing the kind of person, I am). Maybe you’re right for making changes in shifting perspectives. Because I find my friends too as inside-the-box thinkers. Maybe they’re not meant for me. I’ll try exploring new things. And I’ll definitely start with something small. Thank you, again =)

      Like

  4. You can consider yourself lucky to have so many followers… Keep up the good work.. You will get more…Perseverance is the best policy…the more you write the more you find events and topics to write about…and people like to read 📖

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hey! Congrats on your growing number of followers!

    I’m actually writing about this tonight but I’m going to share something with you ahead of time. (A SNEAK PEAK?!?!?) It’s a YouTube video… I know I know… you’ve seen them all. But this IS different and it just might be exactly what you’re looking for. It’s 2 hours long… so get some popcorn and a notebook. I would really love to hear what you think.

    All the motivation you need is within you.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts, you realistic thinker!

